“Moroccan” Coconut & Chickpea Soup

I’m really into chickpeas lately. I found a recipe similar to this one while looking through a friend’s recipe book, but, as always, I’ve made some changes. I love this soup! It is hearty, smells delicious and was very easy to throw into a pot.

3 cups chicken stock
2 or 3 cloves garlic, minced FullSizeRender(1)
1 large sweet potato, peeled & chopped
2 medium-sized yukon gold potatoes
1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
1 yellow onion, chopped
1/2 cup chopped roasted green chiles
15oz can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
14oz can of fire roasted diced tomatoes
14oz can of coconut milk
1 tablespoon Thai Kitchen red curry paste
1 bay leaf
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cumin
Salt and pepper — to taste — optional (I try to make a habit of not adding additional salt to soup dishes, especially since the sodium levels in canned products are generally high. After it’s had a chance to simmer you can always add salt if needed!)

This makes a large batch of soup, so be prepared to freeze some or host a dinner party. In a large stew pot, heat the olive oil and add the garlic. Add the onion and the cinnamon and cumin and cook on medium for 3-4 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Then let simmer. I left mine on the stove for close to two hours. My apartment smelled amazing! Once the soup was ready I decided to give it a little mix with the immersion blender because I wanted the texture to be more soup-like, rather than so chunky. I didn’t puree it, but I did mix until somewhat smooth. This part is totally optional and all about personal preference!

Serve with naan, over rice or simply as is. Right before serving you could also consider adding any of the following: a squeeze of lime, siracha, fresh mint, fresh cilantro, greens (like spinach). I even added some pork/chicken meatballs one day for a little extra protein– yum!

Leave a Reply

