the fabulous life of me

I am sure you all are now thinking that I am going to talk about how I spend my days laying on a beach, soaking up the Mediterranean sun, and eating an afternoon gelato, but I’ll save that for another post. No, instead I want to share this story from dinner the other night.

I was at dinner at a friend’s house and someone asked me if I had visited a certain Italian city. Well, one thing led to another and all of a sudden we were playing a game — which Italian cities hadn’t I visited. I have said a million times how remarkably fortunate I was to study abroad in college, but when the outcome of this conversation came to be that I had visited more cities in Italy than all the Italians at the table combined, I really realized that I led quite a fabulous life that year. I traveled Italy from top to bottom in a matter of months and in the process I saw some pretty amazing places.

I am pretty sure there is someone who can top the list that follows (ahem, @KatieRed), but I am going to brag about this anyway, because she is only one person.

Torino, Milano, Venezia, Verona, Ferrara, Bologna, Ravenna, Modena, Rimini, Cinque Terre (technically, there are five cities here, but I will call it one), Portofino, Santa Margherita, Viareggio, Lucca, Pisa, Firenze, Siena, Montalcino, Perugia, Gubbio, Assisi, Volterra, Trasimeno, Roma, Napoli, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Bari, Mola di Bari, Polignano, Alberobello, Lecce, Castellana, Matera, Modugno, Ricigliano, Catania, Siracusa, Alghero, Cagliari

….phew

For those of you not counting along the way, that is 43 cities (although you may want to double check that, because we all know how good I am with numbers). Anyway, that is pretty fabulous. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a really great map of Italy to give an idea of where all these places are, but you can take my word for it that they are all worth seeing. Except for maybe Ricigliano because it requires you driving to the top of a mountain on a road barely big enough for a Cinquecento; and maybe also Pisa because, honestly, all that’s there is a tower.

My new goal for this year? Make it to fifty.

Leave a Reply

